The Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality sponsors many awards throughout the year, some are presented annually, and some periodically. Awards are presented at the discretion of The Society's Board of Directors. Each award has it's own specific criteria, procedures, application, and/or guidelines.

Questions? Contact the SSSS Office, if you have a question(s) regarding awards.

Please select the title of the award below, to view additional details about the award, and its recipients.

Fellow of The Society: Fellows are elected for outstanding contributions to the sphere of sexual knowledge. Election is by the Board of Directors, upon recommendation from the Awards and Fellows Committee.

Honorary Members of The Society Award: Honorary Members shall be admitted on the basis of outstanding achievement in the field of sexual research, as determined by a vote of the Board of Directors. 

Distinguished Service to SSSS Award: Established in 1985, this award is granted to a Member of The Society in recognition of outstanding service to the organization.

Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award: This award recognizes professionals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of sexology. The award is presented to honor scientific contributions in the areas of research, education, or therapy, and is not restricted to Members of The Society.  

Social Justice/Public Service Policy Award: Established in 1985, this award is given to an individual for outstanding achievement or major impact in such areas as public awareness of sexual issues, public advocacy, professional practice by educators, therapists or health specialists, and legislation or public policy formation. 

Lester A. Kirkendall Outstanding Mentor Award: A long-time Member of The Society has anonymously and generously endowed a substantial fund in honor of their great mentor, Lester A. Kirkendall. This award is designed to highlight an individual who , in tradition of Dr. Kirkendall, is an outstanding mentor. 

Hugo G. Beigel Research Award: This award is named in memory of Hugo G. Beigel, a Founding Member of The Society, and Editor of The Society's journal,  The Journal of Sex Research, for 13 years. The award is designed to promote and reward research excellence in sexology; the recipient is the author of the best article published during the year in the The Journal of Sex Research.

The Bonnie and Vern L. Bullough Book Award: This award is given annually for the most distinguished book written for the professional sexological community published during the previous year. The purpose of the award is to encourage and recognize outstanding scholarship in the field of sexology.



Janice M. Epp Student Scholarship Award (JESSA): This award recognized Dr. Janice Epp’s significant contributions to The Society. Dr. Epp was renowned as a passionate advocate for students, an inspiring teacher, and a wise mentor. She worked tirelessly to expand opportunities for students to be a viable part of The Society.

Award Recipients: 

  • 2013 – Corey Flanders
  • 2013 – Virginia Lynn Ramseyer Winter
  • 2014 – Shanna Katz Kattari
  • 2014 – Chelsea Kilimnik
  • 2014 – Jonathan Reeves
  • 2015 – Randal Brown
  • 2015 – Lisa Meyers
  • 2015 – Veronica Tirado Mercado
  • 2016 – Jessica J. Hille
  • 2017 – Bridget Rebek
  • 2017 – Vivian Ta

Founders Award:

Award Recipient 

  • 2003 - Albert Ellis, Ph.D.

John Money Award: Presented by the Eastern Region.

Award Recipients:

  • 2011 Eli Coleman
  • 2010 Jeff Parsons
  • 2009 Mark Padilla
  • 2008 Theo Sandfoot
  • 2005 Vern Bullough
  • 2004 Charlene Muehlenhard

Kinsey Award: This award was given to the Mid-Continent Region of The Society. It acknowledged contributions to the field of sex research, sex therapy, and/or sexology.

Award Recipients:

  • Alfred Kinsey, Ph.D. (posthumously)
  • William Masters, MD
  • Paul Gebhard, Ph.D.
  • Floyd Martinson, Ph.D.
  • Joseph LoPiccolo, Ph.D.
  • Ira Reiss, Ph.D.
  • Donald Mosher, Ph.D.
  • Janet Shibley Hyde, Ph.D.
  • Leonore Tiefer, Ph.D.
  • Elizabeth Rice Allgeier, Ph.D.
  • Vern L. Bullough, Ph.D., R.N.
  • Bonnie Bullough, R.N., Ph.D.
  • John Money, Ph.D.
  • Wardell Pomeroy, Ph.D.
  • Elaine Hatfield, Ph.D.
  • John Henry Jefferies Bancroft, MD
  • John Gagnon, Ph.D.
  • Eli Coleman, Ph.D.
  • John DeLamater, Ph.D.
  • Alan Bell, Ph.D. (posthumously)
  • Michael Ross, Ph.D.
  • Beverly Whipple, Ph.D.
  • Martin Weinberg, Ph.D.
  • Edward Laumann, Ph.D.
  • Julia Heiman, Ph.D.
  • Milton Diamond, Ph.D.
  • E. Sandra Byers, Ph.D.

Mattison and McWhirter Student Paper and Presentation Award:

Award Recipients:

  • 2012 Presentation Winner: Suzan Doornwaard, MSc for her Presentation Entitled:“Developmental Trajectories of Adolescents Use of Sexually Explicit Material”
  • 2012 Poster Winner: Megan Forbes, MA for her Poster Entitled: “Other Fish in the The Impact of Sex Ratios on Online Dating Sites”

David L. Weis Student Paper Presentation Award: This award was given by the Mid-Continent Region of The Society, during the Regional Meeting, to acknowledge the quality of the presentation made during that meeting.