The Society for Scientific Study of Sexuality’s Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award recognizes professionals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of sexology. The award is presented to honor scientific contributions in the areas of research, education, or therapy, and is not restricted to Members of The Society.   

Nominating Individuals for SSSS Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award: The SSSS Awards and Fellows Committee welcomes nomination materials from SSSS Members.

Deadline: April  6, 2020

Send Nomination Materials to: thesociety@sexscience.org

Award Criteria:

The Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality’s Award for Distinguished Scientific Achievement recognizes professionals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of sexology. In line with the organizational goal to advance the field as a scientific discipline, the award is presented to honor scientific contributions as reflected in such professional activities as research, education or therapy. The notion of scientific contribution is intended to be interpreted broadly to include such activities as publishing materials for the public, developing therapeutic or educational programs, and giving service to the public or the profession as well as publishing research or developing new practices. Since the award is presented to recognize scientific work in the field of sexuality, it is not necessarily restricted to Members of The Society.

Nomination Guidelines (As modified by the SSSS Board of Directors in November 2008):

  • The Awards and Fellows Committee is committed to avoiding potential conflicts of interest. Hence, Members of the Awards and Fellows Committee and The Society’s Board of Directors are ineligible for consideration for this award during their term of service.
  • All Society award nominations require the following materials in a single evidence file: the award candidate’s current vita and two letters of support by The Society members. 
  • The individual who assumes responsibility for nominating a particular candidate for an award (not the Awards and Fellows Committee) bears responsibility for locating individuals willing to support the nomination and for submitting the complete evidence file for a candidate to the SSSS Office. He/She/They agrees to collect all necessary information and transmit this electronically to the SSSS Office on or before the April 6, 2020 deadline. The Awards and Fellows Committee Chair will not take this role. 
  • The official deadline for complete files (all information needed for the Awards and Fellows Committee to consider a candidate for a potential award or fellow status) is April 6, 2020. The Committee will not consider incomplete files and late nominations following the April 6, 2020 deadline.

Please use email to address any questions & to send nomination materials. Please send to: thesociety@sexscience.org.


Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award Recipients

John Bancroft, M.D. William Fisher, Ph.D. Douglas Kirby, Ph.D. Jim Pfaus, Ph.D.
Frank Beach, Ph.D. John Gagnon, Ph.D. Robert Kolodny, M.D. Wardell Pomeroy, Ph.D.
Harry Benjamin, M.D. Paul Gebhard, Ph.D. Hans Lehfeldt, M.D. Ira L. Reiss, Ph.D.
Lori Brotto, Ph.D., R.Psych Cynthia Graham, Ph.D. Sandra Leiblum, Ph.D. Jan Raboch, Dr.Sc.
Vern Bullough, Ph.D. Richard Green, M.D., J.D. Harold Lief, M.D. Michael Ross, Ph.D.
E. Sandra Byers, Ph.D. Allan Guttmacher, M.D. Floyd M. Martinson, Ph.D. Stephanie Sanders, Ph.D.
Donna Byrne, Ph.D. Henry Guze, M.D. Virginia Masters, M.A. William Simon, Ph.D.
Mary Calderone, M.D. Harry Harlow, Ph.D. William Masters, M.D. Leonore Tiefer, Ph.D.
Eli Coleman, Ph.D. Carl Hartman, M.D. H.F.L. Meyer-Bahlburg, Dr.rer.nat Deborah Tolman, Ed.D.
George W. Corner, Ph.D. Elaine Hatfield, Ph.D. John Money, Ph.D. Martin Weinberg, Ph.D.
Anke A. Ehrhardt, Ph.D. Julia Heiman, Ph.D. Donald L. Mosher, Ph.D. Beverly Whipple, R.N., Ph.D.
Albert Ellis, Ph.D. Janet Shibley Hyde, Ph.D. Charlene Muehlenhard, Ph.D. William Yarber, H.S.D.
David Finkelhor, Ph.D. Kamala Kempadoo, Ph.D. Letitia Anne Peplau, Ph.D.